Research Prizes


RWTH Aachen is proud to be the home institution of the recipients of various important research prizes.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (DFG)
Year Name
2019 Professor Matthias Wessling
2014 Professor Rainer Waser
2014 Professor Leif Kobbelt
2008 Professor Martin Beneke*
2002 Professor Wolfgang Dahmen*
2001 Professor Wolfgang Marquardt*
1995 Professor Siegfried Bethke*
1993 Professor Dieter Enders
1990 Professor Norbert Peters
1986 Professor Peter R. Sahm

Alexander von Humboldt-Professuren (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation)
Year Name
2018 Professor Wil van der Aalst
2018 Professor Raul Tempone
2011 Professor David Di Vincenzo
2010 Professor Matthias Wessling

Innovation Prize of the State of NRW (MIWF)
Year Name
2013 Professor Christian Hopmann
2011 Professor Reinhart Poprawe

Alfried Krupp Funding Award for Young University Professors (Alfried Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach Foundation)
Year Name
2011 Professor Hendrik Bluhm
1987 Professor Heinrich Kurz


Note: the prizewinners are either no longer full-time employees of RWTH (*) or are deceased (†)