RWTH wins "Clusters4Future" competition


The Federal Ministry of Education and Research has awarded seven winners in the “Clusters4Future” competition, which is part of the Federal Government’s High-Tech Strategy 2025. The award was given to innovation networks that combine the strengths of different actors, develop emerging fields of innovation and find solutions for the challenges of the future.Two of the winners come from RWTH Aachen University. The Hydrogen Cluster of the Future was applied for by RWTH Aachen University and Forschungszentrum Jülich in cooperation with 47 industrial partners and 13 other organisations. The cluster’s research will be funded with up to 90 million euros. The German government is pursuing a national hydrogen strategy to define the expansion of hydrogen technology. This cluster, which acts as an innovation ecosystem around hydrogen production, storage and use, strengthens this plan and can help put Germany in a leading position in this field. In ten technical projects, the central technologies and innovations are being pursued in cooperation between research and industry. The topics include electrolyser and fuel cell technology, low-maintenance, mobile high-pressure storage, hybrid separation processes, but also the hydrogen combustion engine. An eleventh project addresses the measures accompanying innovation for overarching networking, especially in society.The coordinator of the research cluster is Prof. Pischinger from the Institute for Combustion Engines at RWTH Aachen University.The cluster “NeuroSys - Neuromorphic Hardware for Autonomous Artificial Intelligence Systems” is another cluster of RWTH Aachen University that has won in this competition.